PDA

View Full Version : My vegan story

mauraleigh
04-23-2003, 12:21 PM
The process of eliminating animal products from my diet was slow for me. I'm not exactly sure when I decided to cut out what. I was about nineteen (I'm now 27) when after a while of being a "don't ask don't tell vegan" ("I'm not asking you what's in it so don't tell me") I decided I was either going to do this or not and I knew that I couldn't not be vegan. I just felt too guilty about eating the products of exploited and murdered animals. Veganism is also very empowering. I'm proud to no longer be complicit in the torture and killing of innocent beings. Eight years later I can still say that it is the best thing that I have ever done.

I don't miss meat, dairy and eggs at all. There are so many yummy, convenient alternatives, and I'm a decent cook and baker at this point.

I don't have many conflicts now that I don't live with any non-vegans. Whatever conflicts there have been were because I was just so angry at people's refusal to question society's treatment of other sentient beings and because of the dynamics of my personal relationships. I'm mellowing out a bit now and trying to counter the anger with understanding. My husband is also vegan. I met him on veggiedate.com

-Maura

Spaceman
04-23-2003, 12:29 PM
Wow! A veggie date success story! Congratulations!

And welcome to the forums!

Vegit-8
04-23-2003, 01:46 PM
Welcome mauraleigh.
Glad you found your way to VRF. Congrats on your veggiedate success. I think I feel a new thread coming on. LOL
Will your hubby be participating on our forums?

May peace and joy be with you.
Vegit-8

mauraleigh
04-23-2003, 03:04 PM
No. I don't think my husband, Kyle, will participate. He's not very interested in bulletin boards.

There are lots of veggiedate success stories. You can check them out at the testimonials page on veggiedate.com. Kyle and I are there with a photo of our wedding kiss.

Maura

veganchick
04-23-2003, 03:24 PM