PDA

View Full Version : Why Veganism Why!!!

Greenteeth
04-22-2003, 05:11 AM
Why do I choose to eat a vegan diet? I've been eating mostly vegetarian food since 1991. At that time I realised how much land was used to produce meat and that out of that kind of agriculture enormous deserts were created. Also it was obvious to me that tons and tons of food were being produced to feed one cow or pig and just a few kilograms of meat would be the end result. Now the question I asked myself was this: If I were to use the same fields used to produce the tons of cattle feed to grow human food instead, how many people would I be able to feed compared to the meat produced for the same space. The difference is enormous and we would wipe out famines if we were all to switch to a plant based diet. And we wouldn't use nearly as much space to do so, thus saving the rain forest in South America. So producing meat is a very inneficient way of feeding the human population causing great stress on the environment.