PDA

View Full Version : Dates

Dandelion
03-14-2003, 11:14 PM
some silly grrl left a bag o chopped dates here...
what do i do with them?
any ideas you sweet chefs?

Vegit-8
03-14-2003, 11:35 PM
Oh yeah...scored some sweet goodness did you?
If they are really soft you can skip the first step.
Soak them in warm water for an hour or so then mix them with dried coconut and some almond butter and roll into balls to make orbs of bliss.:D
I also like to blend them with frozen banana and a bit of almond butter to make the most delicious frozen dessert.
Or blend them with fresh banana and some almond butter or/and carob powder and pour over vegan ice cream.

Man, I am soooo ready for dessert.

May peace and joy be with you in the sweetest of ways.
Vegit-8

Dandelion
03-14-2003, 11:46 PM
OMG Vegit the orbs o bliss sound awesome!
i think i'ma gonna try that.
i've never worked with dates before (yes these are dried) so it'll be a fun experiment.
thanks!

purplemackerel
03-15-2003, 04:03 AM
If they are not too dry you can munch on them as a tasty snack, just as they are. If a little fossilised, soak them in apple juice and make a scrummy date cake. :)

redlentils
03-15-2003, 04:15 AM
boil them up with an equal amount of tamarind pulp. cool. strain. add a pinch of cumin and chili powder. voila! tamarind sauce. freeze as ice cubes. add to curries and stews. :)

Husky Corn Star
03-15-2003, 04:27 AM
Anyway you do them, they will keep you regular ;)

Count Duckula
03-15-2003, 06:23 AM
Originally posted by Husky Corn Star
Anyway you do them, they will keep you regular ;)

No Sh*t !!!

Mwah Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha !!!

:drunk:

misanthropy
03-15-2003, 01:13 PM
How about some raw food recipes (http://www.rawfoods.com/recipes)? Tons of the cookies & treats and desserts use dates in them.

These (from the same website) are supposed to be outstanding. I haven't tried them yet though.

Tastes Like Hostess Crumb Donuts by Lucy Yeh

1 cup raw almonds
1 cup very soft, pitted dates