PDA

View Full Version : Plant-Based Physician in Los Angles, CA

theplantrx.com
02-25-2011, 10:27 PM
Hi. My name is Jenna. I am a physician who advocates plant-based nutrition. As you might guess I adopted a plant-based diet for health and wellness reasons.

I wish I could say that my path to my current lifestyle was brought about as a result of my forward thinking and conscientious nature, but it was anything but. In fact, the whole concept of a plant-based diet was introduced to me by a dear friend who has nothing to do with medicine. Actually, he’s in finance. Out of the blue he asked my opinion on a book called “The China Study” and truth be told I had never heard of it. Embarrassed, I quickly set out to read it such that I could offer my “professional” opinion.

What I read was nothing short of astonishing to me. I was shocked. I didn’t think what I read could possibly be accurate. There was no way that if this were true and the data presented was correct that I could not know this. So, I looked for every conceivable way to discredit it. I checked the literature, references, talked to colleagues in superior positions at prestigious organizations and universities, even googled counter opinions… but as hard as I tried I could not refute the data.

Golden Globes 2009
I shared my findings with my friend who then told me he had been eating a completely plant-based diet for the last 30 days to “try it out” as Dr. Campbell had suggested in his book. So, I asked how he was doing, how he felt, etc. My curiosity was piqued! He was a 41-year-old male, thin, in great shape and presumably healthy in every way with no medical reason to even consider attempting this. Now, let me say this, one of the things I had always loved about him was his open-mindedness and willingness to embrace and try new things. It was his interest that inspired me to try it too.