PDA

View Full Version : Almost convinced...

Spooter
05-01-2009, 10:38 AM
Hello everyone, this is my first post (I JUST registered). I am quite new to the idea of Animal Rights and veg*nism. I am not a vegan; after finally learning about the horrors of the factory farms system and doing some serious reading & thinking about just how much right we have to use animals for our own purposes I gave up meat, eggs, & dairy and am working on discovering & eliminating the stuff with animal products or tested on animals elsewhere in my life.

We would (obviously) all agree animal welfare is a crucial issue in today's society; however, I am not yet convinced it should always take top precedence. For example, and this is purely hypothetical(I don't even golf): suppose I am going to buy a pair of golf clubs. I can buy them from Company A which uses absolutely no animal products in their product or manufacturing process, but pays their workers poorly, treats them poorly, and has a horrible environmental record. Company B pays close attention to providing excellent working conditions, pay, & benefits, as well as is vigilant about their influence on the environment. However, there is animal products in both their production process & final product. (Again, this is all purely hypothetical).

In this case, would the most ethical choice still be Company A? This is the issue I am wrestling with. I would really like anyone's thoughts; is this a valid point? or am I looking at this the wrong way? Has anyone else had this same dilemma?

I realize this problem would only arise in an incredibly small number of cases; still, I am not going to go all the way and label myself a vegan unless I am actually going to be a vegan.

Thanks for any thoughts! And Happy Friday.

La Végétalienne
05-01-2009, 11:37 AM