PDA

View Full Version : Dietitians in the HIz-OusE

lamb
10-14-2008, 10:33 PM
So I know a few of us are dietitians, but no one has ever spoke specifically on the topic.

I'm studying to be a registered dietitian, and am sort of losing heart- I just don't know that I can wade through so much "drink milk for strong bones" to finally make it to my own online consulting set up for veg'ns.

Any advice or info would be appreciated, such is what subfield you work in, how you've dealt with all the propaganda, etc. I may have to choose a new career, even though you guys have made it out there...

Ariann
10-14-2008, 10:59 PM
I don't have any helpful advice, but I just wanted to say I think it's awesome that we have VRF members studying to be dieticians or working already as dieticians. Even as a person who's never visited one, the messages put out by the "experts" are so disheartening and disappointing, I'm excited that there are more and more voices out there speaking for a whole foods plant diet instead of "drink milk to lose weight" and "100 calorie cookie packs make perfect snacks."

chikara_no_tori
10-15-2008, 05:12 AM
lamb, i have absolutely nothing worthy to add to what Ariann except i love the title of this thread.

anya the vegan
10-15-2008, 08:58 AM
lamb...it is beyond frustrating to be a vegan and be a dietitian. being a dietitian was not my ultimate goal while in undergrad. i was accepted into a public health graduate program where i planned on pursuing health policy and medical/nutritional anthropology...but due to finances and an ill family member, i dropped out the summer before grad school.