PDA

View Full Version : Joy's Vegan Story

Joy L.
04-04-2008, 04:26 PM
Hello Folks,

My name is Joy, and I'm a NH resident, soon to move to FL. I celebrated my 6-month anniversary of starting my Vegan journey last week - 9/25/07 was the happy date that I started.

I was 50 at the time (have since had a b-day), and feeling the ravages of middle age, menopause, weight gain, lack of energy, etc. Over the years I have often entertained thoughts of a Vegetarian diet, even a Raw food diet. I've owned many veggie cookbooks and several Raw food books, but always had stumbling blocks. They were:

Cooking for my family
Believing that we require as much protein as we are told
Having emotional eating issues

Well, my kids are adults, in fact my daughter is a vegan and was a vegetarian for over a year prior to my change. I only cook for my hubby and myself on a regular basis, and he never felt as though he needed to make changes in this direction.

I had 3 events coincide which really pushed me over the edge, and then caught me in my fall. What a great plummet!

First, one morning on the toilet I realized that I had become so fat that it was difficult to reach down and do a proper job of wiping (sorry to be gross, but one must understand the impact of such a revelation and how it would really get the point across).
Within the same week, I read an entry in Christine Kane's blog about dairy and the book The China Study, and I was so intrigued by it that I had to go buy the book. The same day I bought The China Study, I ate lamb and then saw the episode of MASH in which Radar hides a baby lamb in order to save it. I knew in my heart that I'd never eat lamb again.
Also in the same time frame, I read Eldon Taylor's Choices & Illusions, and was led to try InnerTalk (audio programs that provide affirmations).