PDA

View Full Version : Adding "scent" to unscented laundry detergent?

Oatmeal Girl
02-08-2008, 12:01 PM
I recently bought a huge jug of unscented laundry detergent (I forget which brand, but it's one of the more popular vegan ones) on sale for super cheap. I've never used unscented detergent before so I don't know if this is typical, but after doing a load I noticed that the clothes aren't "unscented", rather, they smell slightly musty. I don't want to waste the detergent but I also don't want my clothes to smell musty for the next 6 months, so I was thinking of adding a few drops of essential oils or some other scent to the jug. Would this work?

Miso Vegan
02-08-2008, 12:08 PM
I recently bought a huge jug of unscented laundry detergent (I forget which brand, but it's one of the more popular vegan ones) on sale for super cheap. I've never used unscented detergent before so I don't know if this is typical, but after doing a load I noticed that the clothes aren't "unscented", rather, they smell slightly musty. I don't want to waste the detergent but I also don't want my clothes to smell musty for the next 6 months, so I was thinking of adding a few drops of essential oils or some other scent to the jug. Would this work?

Yes.

But maybe the issue is not the unscent, but other issues. Washing machines, especially older ones, can harbor mold. Maybe it wasn't enough soap.

Anyway, yes, add EOs freely to your nose's liking. :)

Oatmeal Girl
02-08-2008, 12:30 PM
Thanks! :)

Emiloid
02-08-2008, 07:19 PM
How do you mix it? Just shake the bottle? Can you add oils to powdered detergent as well?

sitting_vegan
02-08-2008, 08:41 PM
Would shaking the bottle result in mucho bubbles?

:: pictures lovely scented bubbles flying everywhere ::

Miso Vegan
02-08-2008, 09:56 PM
I'd just turn it upside-down and right-side-up again a few times, and let it sit. Diffusion takes care of the rest.

Emiloid
02-09-2008, 10:17 PM